A Sandwich to Grind – Part 1

Working hard to get back in the swing of things. I have been working on an ongoing project that consists of one scene all by its lonesome. I am feeling that it is getting to the finally stages, if you don’t count endless hours I may spend trying to color it. That may or may not happen.

On this one because the creation process has taken me so long and the drawing is a bit more detailed than previous Universal Anxiety projects I would like to dissect it a little to share my process, some of the inspiration and struggles I experienced (AM experiencing) as the project is not quite complete.

60percent_blog
I started inking early on this, I like to do my drawings in pieces. Adding removing and jumping around as I go. The original idea was that this robot was sitting at his console controlling the cutting of Subway sandwiches.

 

With any good art there is always self discovery, the process is always changing and improving, that last one is subjective so you alone can be the only true critic of your own art. I found many things this time around. Thinking back this piece has cost me a couple months of my time. Tinkering mostly, no huge breakthroughs. Mostly an hour here and hour there. That for the time being is how I work. I want to build on this of course and make it more of a habit, to get my self addicted to drawing again, inspired by my progress.
The first thing I would like to share is my inspiration. I recently came across a real gem of a resource. I happened upon some old National Geographic magazines from the 60s-80s. I never realized what a great and original resource these could be for reference material. When I visualize my art I often think of those shorts Terry Gilliam would create for Monty Python movies, such a great amalgam of Weird and funny. To tell a story so succinctly and with minimal visuals, a thing to aspire to. A great deal of the art Gilliam procured for his animated follies were from defunct publishing and magazine clippings. Obscure faces, figures and landscapes. Coupled with his fairly strong artistic persuasions he was able to create entertaining original humor for you and I.

 

woodcutterman
My semi-inspiration for Sandwich Grinder – Copyright National Geographic from a long time ago.

 

I don’t know about you but I struggle at times to get that initial spark of motivation. Ideas are ease, execution difficult. Most times given a little inspiration I can take it to the next level. Processing the idea, original or nor. Through myself that idea will come an original piece of art. My belief is that there is a line that and artist should not cross or rely too heavily on the minds of others, after all the most satisfying thing for me is to say “That is mine” – “It came from me”. I do think it is great practice to draw from many sources and learn many minor things from many great artists. If your business is to be able to copy art 1-1 verbatim and claim it as your own.. well to be perfectly honest your skill is misappropriated in my humble opinion, you should be out there copying money! Mimicry is the biggest form of flattery, but be careful because sometimes flattery will get you no where.

Stay tuned for Part 2!

3 thoughts on “A Sandwich to Grind – Part 1

  1. This is great! Everyone has a different rhythm of how they work, actually I admire your commitment and patience to keep going back to it over a long period of time. I don’t think I could do that. I also love the reference material – good tip! I should keep an eye out at charity shops. Look forward to seeing the rest!

Leave a Reply

