A Place for Face

More faces. Started up as a warm up session and I went with it.

face2face_raw_1The above face I took a clean approach and left some of the pencil shading in. I really like the result, however this would be a bit more difficult to color. I think I might work on trying to get the ink and Lo-Fi effect on separate layers. A task for another day!

merlin_raw

Old Merlin here is just a really good exercise for using S-Curves as you can see I didn’t do a very good job with parts of his beard but over all he turned out ok. You can see as much in this example but a good rule for beards, eyebrows and hair is to make sure the hair has a good point of origin, flowing away from it or in a general direction.

 

02_09_point_of_origin
Point of Origin Example. Credit Dermot O’ Connor
bored_1
Bored Guy

One more quick point I would like to bring up as I grind my way through some of this daily practice is that you need to listen to your body when drawing in detail. I tend to get stuck in panic mode sometimes when I am inking. Because this is it… if you screw this up well then have fun starting over.

I think that is a big reason why I draw really nice smooth lines for the most part in pencil and things get a bit tricky when moving over to pen. It sounds stupid but I have found it to be a real thing! I have a particularly hard time drawing smooth ellipses, such as heads and eyeballs. (see above his head looks a bit lumpy) These circles can be broken down into parts. The trick is making them look contiguous. With pencil this is much easier, obviously if you make a mistake Mr eraser will save you, however in pen this can be a one chance only thing.

This is also a practice makes perfect moment. Knowing your body, for example maybe you need to turn your paper to make that line a little more controlled, or you just cant seem to follow your pencil lines unless you make short deliberate strokes. Well do what you need to and listen to these cues.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Place for Face

  1. Makes him look more human and less like an “egghead”. In no way does it distract from the picture. I’ve had the same problem. Maybe try loosening up your grip on the pen and moving from your shoulder instead of your wrist. Also breathe out as you would while squeezing a trigger. Just some thoughts. Good luck.

    1. I like those suggestions. I could see how carrying a lot of stress into your hands could result in less control. I’m no artist, but it makes sense to me. When I write, I find it nearly impossible to create fluid an imaginative characters if I’m tense.
      Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

