Occam’s Pen

For the most part I am proud to say that the opening scene is 95-96% complete. If you don’t count the reinterpretation of the city-scape, which will be another 2-3 days, and all of the minor corrections (bot-tek sign!) before I can leave it alone. Hoorray.. o_O

Lesson Learned

I overcame (learned from) a couple painful lessons with this one. If you are not an Illustrator acolyte then get your drawing as near completion in pencil and or ink before you move forward. I am lucky because I have background with Photoshop, which saved my butt here. Live Trace is great, but many Illustrators do not rely on it so heavily. It is a great tool, but I think I need to really dig into paths, and the pen tool it would help tremendously.

Coloring

Was a bit of a chore on this one. I am not sure why but (I think) I have had better luck. I feel colors are a bit over used on this one, but again just another tool in the box and I will have to sharpen as I go along. Also, if you keep a nice clean working .Ai file as you go, you have the power to color edit and refine on the fly.

Process

Document your process when you first start. I was thoroughly convinced I had done something a certain way with Image Trace and in actuality all I needed to do was get my levels darker from the get-go. Again, getting a clean well planned out ink is more helpful in some cases, unless of course you are a wizard in the Illustrator.

Combining Forces

First drawing here with all of the elements I have been practicing. Pencil > Pen > Photoshop > Illustrator > Vector > Color > Cell Shading > Add ink character (repeat all of the above for green robot) > Photoshop > Illustrator > Photoshop for brush effects and so on and so forth.

Great higher-level tutorial on adding textures or brushes to a drawing

UA_scene1_nocolor
Bot-Tek Universal Anxiety Scene #1

Overall I guess I am pleased with it… need to give my eyeballs a break.

5 thoughts on “Occam’s Pen

  1. Reblogged this on Writing Adventure and commented:
    Here it is!
    Frame 1 in all it’s glory. Chris used all the tools he’s been developing over the past four weeks to put together our first big scene for Universal Anxiety. Check out his blog post to get some detail on the process he’s been using and we’ll get frame 2 out soon as we can!

Leave a Reply

